Change of life III and Happy Mother’s day

Happy mother’s day to all you who are mothers. To your mothers. To the mothers we don’t know who live very different lives from yours or mine. Lots to write about mothers, mother’s day and the treatment of mothers, but not today. I’ve gotten some great wishes today–some very unexpected, like from a very quiet co-worker of mine and from my sister. I got a Skype Instant Message from my daughter, who I miss so much, and texts and emails from expected and surprising people. I’ve sent a number of messages via all of the electronic messaging tools at my disposal– from email, to text, to Facebook, to What’s App– the App of choice for all the parents here and in Spain, of the kids of the Bilbao/US exchange. I wrote to all the mothers of 11 and 12 year olds– mothers who, like M and me, have worked their asses off to organize and fundraise and make great, this trip my daughter is on right now. I am completely alone in the house– daughter in Spain, and girlfriend/partner in Indiana with her mom and her sister. It’s a mixed bag to be here alone this morning.

Soon, I have to go back to work and slog through more of the work on our Legislative Report, associated with the FY 2015 budget which is the same project I’ve worked on until after 11:00 p.m. all last week and all day yesterday. But I am cheered knowing my daughter isn’t waiting for me to come home and knowing this is the third, but last time I will ever do this, because my job will end before this happens again next year.

But I do have time to post pictures as the adventure of N, in Bilbao halfway around the world, continues. And as her Mommy (my partner) and Mama (me) hang in there. These are pictures that make me happy as a mother. N looks so great and so loving and loved by the people she is with.la foto 2

Gorgeous beach and cliffs and friends.  She is looking at an iPod with her friend, E-- a boy she's known since kindergarten and a really wonderful boy.  The other picture looks to me like the morning after a slumber party, with S, one of the Bilbao girls-- best friend of N's Bilbao sister, Aida, and a girl  that N got to know when Bilbao kids were here and who, from pictures, it looks like she's gotten closer to on this trip.  Laughing, laughing.

Gorgeous beach and cliffs and friends. She is looking at an iPod with her friend, E– a boy she’s known since kindergarten and a really wonderful boy. The other picture looks to me like the morning after a slumber party, with S, one of the Bilbao girls– best friend of N’s Bilbao sister, Aida, and girl that N got to know when Bilbao kids were here and who, from pictures, it looks like she's gotten closer to on this trip. Laughing, laughing.

Leave a comment